February 11, 2012

Well, today was supposed to be the day I was going to REALLY break in the new bike.  I had envisioned taking it out to our local Rails-To-Trails and getting a good 20-miles in, which would have been a record for me.  That was the plan.  Leaving the house and beginning the short commute to my office, I was met with 38*F temperature and 28mph winds making it feel like the mid-20s.  Needless to say, my sweatshirt-hoodie just wasn’t cutting it.  Still, though, I maintained hope that it would warm up and that I could still get a nice ride in.

Around 11am, an old friend who had moved away called to let me know that he was driving through town and wanted to have lunch.  Little did I know that “lunch” meant 2 1/2 hours waiting for other old friends to finish their meals.  I shouldn’t make it sound like I’m complaining, though.  It truly was a gift to be able to catch up with old friends.  Social interaction is good.

Tomorrow, though, I think I’ll be able to have my nice, long, break-in ride on the Rails-to-Trails.  In the meantime, I really need a windbreaker.

About obesyclist

I am an obese person, hoping to develop healthier habits (and lose weight as a side effect of living that healthier life). One of the habits I've started is bicycling. I've been cycling to work, to the grocery store, to the coffee shop... Basically anywhere I go, I cycle. I will chronicle in this blog the ups, the downs, and anything else I find interesting regarding my journal toward a more physically active and healthy life.
This entry was posted in Bicycling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment