February 16, 2012

Today I feel like I really stepped it up a notch.  In addition to my short work commute, I fit some additional cycling time in by running some errands and getting a workout on the local Rails-To -Trails.  According to the Garmin, so far today I’ve burned over 1000 calories and it looks like I’ll have ridden over 15 miles by the time the day is over with.  I know it’s not a lot for most cyclists, but this is a new personal record for me (the previous personal record for most miles in one day was also earlier this week… so things are definitely moving up).  Unfortunately, I wasn’t wearing my heart rate monitor.  I guestimate that I kept my heart rate around 140-150 during the workout, though, based on my last workout at the Rails-To-Trails. 

Also during this workout, I adjusted my seat up a bit based on some advice I read over at the Bike Forums, which seemed to help me ride “in the drops” a lot more easily.  This is another thing I plan on working on, getting more comfortable riding in the drops.

About obesyclist

I am an obese person, hoping to develop healthier habits (and lose weight as a side effect of living that healthier life). One of the habits I've started is bicycling. I've been cycling to work, to the grocery store, to the coffee shop... Basically anywhere I go, I cycle. I will chronicle in this blog the ups, the downs, and anything else I find interesting regarding my journal toward a more physically active and healthy life.
This entry was posted in Bicycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment