March 10, 2012

Today I went for another ride on the local Rails-To-Trails.  Initially I had just planned to go around 12-15 miles, followed by some exploring of downtown Hattiesburg (I wanted to see where a new music venue was opening up).  Anywho, I saw that tomorrow we’re supposed to have thunderstorms, so I decided to go a full 20 miles today just in case I can’t fit any miles in tomorrow.  This marks my second 20-mile ride, and I improved my average speed from 12.9 mph on Thursday to 13.3 mph today.  Unfortunately, I hit the “lap” button on my Garmin Edge 305, so it started applying time/miles/calories/etc. to the next “lap” before I was done with the 20 miles on the trail.  Oh well, it’s just a minor mistake, since it happened at the last 0.5 miles.

Here are the stats, which include the trip to the trail and the trip back to the office after I was done with the workout:

Distance: 21.38 mi
Time: 1:40:35
Avg Pace: 4:42 min/mi
Avg Speed: 12.8 mph
Elevation Gain: 290 ft
Calories: 1,529 C

Now the question is, since it’s telling me I burned 1529 calories (which I do think is inflated), how do I assuage my hunger while still staying on the healthy side?  That’s something I have to work on … I’m always starving after a long workout, lol.

About obesyclist

I am an obese person, hoping to develop healthier habits (and lose weight as a side effect of living that healthier life). One of the habits I've started is bicycling. I've been cycling to work, to the grocery store, to the coffee shop... Basically anywhere I go, I cycle. I will chronicle in this blog the ups, the downs, and anything else I find interesting regarding my journal toward a more physically active and healthy life.
This entry was posted in Bicycling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment